THE HOT DOG MAN

Great time at the skate park

Cycling in the windy, dry heat on our trail, I weigh my options.  Do I want to get a good work out and continue south up the hill or should I make a hard left turn into the skate board park where I will find shade, rest, water and clean bathrooms.  No brainer.  I turn left.  I dismount, take off my helmet, pull out my power bar and relax. 

But wait!.  What’s that?  A big car driving over the grass, pulling a trailer? A man jumps out and unhitches a hot dog stand…right here by my space.   He moves quickly, setting up candy, cold sodas and prepping the hot dogs.

Hard Working Hot Dog Man

Friendly and talkative, he explains, without missing a beat in assembly of his cart, that he was laid off from a big data company just before Christmas.  With this abrupt freedom from the shackles of his cubicle, he knew what he would do.  He obtained the legal documents he needed.  He rented this space at the park for the year and it, with a few other venues, has been a financial blessing.

Not three minutes into our meeting, a mob of little boys ascend with their skate boards into my shaded pavilion.   The evidence of jumping, vaulting and falling with their boards is in their flushed faces and hair dripping with perspiration,   They surround Mr. Hot Dog Man.  “Anything for free?‘ asks one.  “You know better than that. No free stuff here” replies our former IT man.  Another question, “Any Dr. Pepper?”  Continuing his well organized set up (“I’ve got this down to a science”, says he glancing my way), “No, but I’ve got Pepsi.”

This gathering hole for man and boys is a serendipity for me, a portrait of a joyous summer day.  The children laugh and chatter with Mr. Hot Dog Man.  They talk about school, their parents and their dreams.  “My dad is applying for a job,” one fellow says.  With a note of encouragement in his voice, Mr. Hot Dog Man replies, “Good for him.  You do what you gotta do”  

Getting Ready for the Kids

The camaraderie between busy no nonsense hot dog vender and skate boarder boys probably wasn’t written into the business plan.  But there it is.  Food for the soul from man to boys.   I am so glad I did not get a good work out that day.  Wouldn’t have wanted to miss this picture.

About ramblingalongwithnora

I am a retired nurse. I love to sing, write, cycle and I love aqua aerobiecs. I hope this will be as fun for others reading it as it is for me writing it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to THE HOT DOG MAN

  1. Wow, awesome weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you make running a blog look easy. The entire look of your site is excellent, let alone the content material!

Leave a comment